Mirror mirror on the wall

by ennejoy

This morning I looked in the mirror and saw a person I’ve been longing to see. For quite a while, I’ve been seeing somebody else in the mirror, somebody trying their best to look like me but not quite managing it.

I can’t explain it very well, but this morning, my first thought when looking at the mirror, was, “now this is how I should look like.” For example, I’ve been feeling ill-at-ease with the fact that I’m taller than many people I like to be with, and generally felt I look too much like a stereotypical person of my (biological) sex. But today, there was a change in how I see myself. There was not a “person of sex A” in the mirror, but myself, looking calm and relaxed (albeit a bit bleary-eyed because I had to get up early).

A trans* person, ready to face the new day.

